ensemble series   |   composer series   |   improv series
about   |   artists   |   contact

Aaron Helgeson, Composer

Aaron Helgeson (b. 1982 Eugene, OR) is a composer of concert and theatrical music. He has written for various soloists and ensembles including the Arditti String Quartet, trumpet player Peter Evans, chamber sextet Echoi, Berlin PianoPercussion, and soprano Susan Narucki. His music has been performed at US and international venues such as the Berliner Kabarett Anstalt-Theater (Berlin), L'Arsenal (Metz), MOSA (New York), Studio Z (St. Paul), and FLATFILE galleries (Chicago). As a composer for theater, Helgeson assisted Gina Leishman in creating the score for La Jolla Playhouse's production of Brecht's Mother Courage, winner of the 2006 San Diego Critic's Circle Award for Best Original Music. Other awards include the Robert Erickson Composition Scholarship, the Saul Chaplin Award, the Oberlin Conservatory of Music Composition Prize, and grants from the American Composers Forum and Eiler Foundation. In addition, his work has been featured at numerous contemporary music festivals and forums, where he has worked closely with Salvatore Sciarrino, Harrison Birtwistle, Chaya Czernowin, John Luther Adams, and Helmut Lachenmann (who "respects" his music but ultimately dubbed him a "hedonist"). Helgeson has studied with Roger Reynolds, Lewis Nielson, and Randolph Coleman. He holds degrees in music (BMus & MA) and theater (BA) with studies at the American Music Institute, Interlochen Center for the Arts, Oberlin Conservatory of Music, and UC San Diego where he is currently pursuing a PhD in Composition.

Vincent Raikhel, Composer
Yiheng Yvonne Wu, Composer
Brian Griffeath-Loeb, Composer
Aaron Helgeson, Composer
Charlie Wilmoth, Composer
Sebastian Armoza, Composer
Ben Hackbarth, Composer
Keeril Makan, Composer
Alexandre Lunsqui, Composer
Hiroya Miura, Composer
Alex Ness, Composer / Electronics
Laura Barger
Matthew Hough
In Hyun Kim
Jim Altieri, Composer / Electronics
Russell Greenberg
Carl Bettendorf, Conductor
Sam Pluta, Composer / Electronics
Jeff Snyder, Composer / Electronics
Kate Soper, Composer / Vocals
Eric Wubbels, Composer / Accordion
Alex Mincek, Composer / Saxophones
Jacob Rhodebeck
Ian Antonio
Timetable Percussion