ensemble series   |   composer series   |   improv series
about   |   artists   |   contact

Alex Mincek, Composer / Saxophones

Alex Mincek (b. 1975) is a New York-based composer and performer. He studied composition with Tristan Murail and Fred Lerdahl at Columbia University. He has also studied composition with Nils Vigeland at the Manhattan School of Music (MA). As a performer he studied saxophone with Richard Oatts at MSM (BA) and with Bunky Green at the University of North Florida.

Mincek’s music has been programmed by major music festivals such as the Radio France/Festival Presences, Royaumont “Voix Nouvelles”, Musiques Demesurees, Darmstadt (IMD), Contempuls Festival and the Ostrava New Music Days. Mincek has collaborated with groups including the Les Percussions de Strasbourg, Ensemble Cairn, Orchestra of the SEM Ensemble, the Janecek Philharmonic, Talea Ensemble, the Kenners and the Vega String Quartet. Mincek’s music has also been recognized through commissions and grants from the New Mendelssohn Chamber Orchestra-Leipzig, Ensemble XXI (Dijon), Present Music, MATA, the French Ministry of Culture, Meet The Composer, the National Foundation for Advancement in the Arts, Due East, ASCAP and the National Endowment for the Arts.

Mincek is the artistic director of the Wet Ink Ensemble, a group dedicated to experimental contemporary music, which he founded in 1998.

Upcoming projects include a new string quartet for the Jack Quartet (2010), a new work for the Yarn/Wire Ensemble (2010) and a new piece for Ensemble Le Balcon (2011).

Vincent Raikhel, Composer
Yiheng Yvonne Wu, Composer
Brian Griffeath-Loeb, Composer
Aaron Helgeson, Composer
Charlie Wilmoth, Composer
Sebastian Armoza, Composer
Ben Hackbarth, Composer
Keeril Makan, Composer
Alexandre Lunsqui, Composer
Hiroya Miura, Composer
Alex Ness, Composer / Electronics
Laura Barger
Matthew Hough
In Hyun Kim
Jim Altieri, Composer / Electronics
Russell Greenberg
Carl Bettendorf, Conductor
Sam Pluta, Composer / Electronics
Jeff Snyder, Composer / Electronics
Kate Soper, Composer / Vocals
Eric Wubbels, Composer / Accordion
Alex Mincek, Composer / Saxophones
Jacob Rhodebeck
Ian Antonio
Timetable Percussion