ensemble series   |   composer series   |   improv series
about   |   artists   |   contact

Carl Bettendorf, Conductor

Born in Hamburg, Germany, Carl Christian Bettendorf is currently completing his doctoral degree at Columbia University where he studied with Tristan Murail. Prior to moving to New York, he completed composition studies in his home country in Munich and Karlsruhe, working with Hans-J√ľrgen von Bose and Wolfgang Rihm. He attended Sir Peter Maxwell Davies' Summer School for Young Composers in the Orkney Islands and was a fellow at the Composers Conference at Wellesley College, Massachusetts, and the Centre Acanthes in Metz, France. Bettendorf's works have been played at major new-music festivals and venues in Europe and North America alike. In July 1997, his first opera Escorial after Michel de Ghelderode was premiered at the Prinzregententheater in Munich. He has received numerous awards, most recently a fellowship from the German Academic Exchange Service (DAAD) and the Jonathan Kramer Prize of Columbia University. He also spent six months in residence at the Cit√© des Arts in Paris. As a teaching fellow at Columbia, he held appointments as instructor in Music Humanities and assistant conductor of the Columbia University Orchestra. Current conducting activities include appearances with various new-music groups in New York (ACME, Talea Ensemble, Wet Ink Ensemble) as well as with the Munich-based ensemble piano possible, of which he has also been artistic director and composer-in-residence. In addition, he was the administrative director of the Manhattan Sinfonietta for four seasons. Mr. Bettendorf has recorded for Albany Records, ArtVoice and Cybele, and his music was broadcast on German, Swiss, Canadian, U.S. and Australian radio.

Vincent Raikhel, Composer
Yiheng Yvonne Wu, Composer
Brian Griffeath-Loeb, Composer
Aaron Helgeson, Composer
Charlie Wilmoth, Composer
Sebastian Armoza, Composer
Ben Hackbarth, Composer
Keeril Makan, Composer
Alexandre Lunsqui, Composer
Hiroya Miura, Composer
Alex Ness, Composer / Electronics
Laura Barger
Matthew Hough
In Hyun Kim
Jim Altieri, Composer / Electronics
Russell Greenberg
Carl Bettendorf, Conductor
Sam Pluta, Composer / Electronics
Jeff Snyder, Composer / Electronics
Kate Soper, Composer / Vocals
Eric Wubbels, Composer / Accordion
Alex Mincek, Composer / Saxophones
Jacob Rhodebeck
Ian Antonio
Timetable Percussion