ensemble series   |   composer series   |   improv series
about   |   artists   |   contact

Hiroya Miura, Composer

Hiroya Miura, a native of Sendai, Japan, has been active as a composer, conductor, and improvisor in Canada and the United States. His works have been performed by Speculum Musicae, the New York New Music Ensemble, Nouvel Ensemble Moderne, Timetable, and So Percussion. He has served as the assistant conductor to George Rothman and Jeffrey Milarsky with the Columbia University Orchestra. He has since given a number of premieres of works by emerging European and American composers in New York. He is a founding member of the electronic improvisation unit, NoOneReceiving, and their debut album from the Grain of Sound has won critical acclaim in Italy, Portugal, and the United States. He has studied piano with Claude Labelle at l'Ecole de Musique Vincent d'Indy, composition with John Rea and Alcides Lanza at McGill University. Later he pursued his graduate degrees in composition at Columbia University under the tutelage of Fred Lerdahl, Jonathan Kramer, and Tristan Murail. While he was a teaching fellow at Columbia, he was nominated as a finalist for the Presidential Teaching Award for his teaching in composition and music theory classes. He has received awards and fellowships from the Mellon Foundation, the Atlantic Center for the Arts, and the American Composers Forum.

Vincent Raikhel, Composer
Yiheng Yvonne Wu, Composer
Brian Griffeath-Loeb, Composer
Aaron Helgeson, Composer
Charlie Wilmoth, Composer
Sebastian Armoza, Composer
Ben Hackbarth, Composer
Keeril Makan, Composer
Alexandre Lunsqui, Composer
Hiroya Miura, Composer
Alex Ness, Composer / Electronics
Laura Barger
Matthew Hough
In Hyun Kim
Jim Altieri, Composer / Electronics
Russell Greenberg
Carl Bettendorf, Conductor
Sam Pluta, Composer / Electronics
Jeff Snyder, Composer / Electronics
Kate Soper, Composer / Vocals
Eric Wubbels, Composer / Accordion
Alex Mincek, Composer / Saxophones
Jacob Rhodebeck
Ian Antonio
Timetable Percussion