We’ve updated our Terms of Use to reflect our new entity name and address. You can review the changes here.
We’ve updated our Terms of Use. You can review the changes here.
  • Digital Album
    Streaming + Download

    Includes unlimited streaming via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.
    Purchasable with gift card

      $5 USD  or more

    You own this


Break 11:15


Without Words is the first portrait album of New York composer Aaron Einbond and the debut full-length CD by Chicago-based Ensemble Dal Niente. Crafted through long-term collaboration, highly-personalized instrumental writing and performance joins detailed electronic sound as colorful as it is ineffable.

The title work, showcasing soprano Amanda DeBoer Bartlett with the full ensemble, is at once coloratura monodrama, electroacoustic musique concrète, and instrumental ambient sound installation. Post-Paleontology zooms in on an intricate soundworld of delicately-prepared acoustic instruments. Break pits Ryan Muncy’s powerful baritone saxophone against live computer processing. Along the way references range from Wallace Stevens to Kenneth Goldsmith to Charlie Parker, “collecting fact, fiction, documentary, and metaphor into conceptual and sonic precision and refinement,” as Steven Takasugi writes in his program note.

Interspersed are Sonic Postcards, brief windows into alternate acoustic realities. They reveal the starting points for Einbond’s compositional process as he blends field recordings with a collage of instrumental samples, transcribed and reinterpreted live, tailored to the unique voice of each member of the ensemble.


released December 1, 2013

Soprano: Amanda DeBoer Bartlett
Conductor: Michael Lewanski
Bass Flute: Constance Volk
English Horn: Andrew Nogal
Clarinets: Alejandro T. Acierto
Saxophones: Ryan Muncy
Guitar: Jesse Langen
Percussion: Gregory Beyer
Piano: Winston Choi
Violin: J. Austin Wulliman
Viola: Doyle Armbrust
Violoncello: Chris Wild
Contrabass: Mark Buchner
Recording Engineer: Dan Nichols
Assistant Engineer: Scott McConnell
Executive Producer: Ryan Muncy
Producer: Michael Lewanksi
Producer: Aaron Einbond
Session Producer: Chris Fisher-Lochhead
Session Producer: J. Austin Wulliman
Design: Alejandro T. Acierto
Images: Pierre Edouard Dumora


all rights reserved



Carrier Records New York, New York

Carrier is dedicated to bringing the best, most unique, and most adventurous music from the New York City region, the US, and abroad, and to release a wide range of styles and sound worlds, while maintaining the highest quality releases possible.

contact / help

Contact Carrier Records

Streaming and
Download help

Redeem code

Report this album or account